“Gift”

“Gift”

Here I come, flying
On wings of cardboard
Crafted in my most creative moment
To rise and soar and rise again
On currents of exhaled
Prayers
See my arms open wide
My green eyes searching for you
Reach up, reach up,
graze my belly with your aching fingers
And listen to my laughter echoing through the trees…
Follow, follow, follow, I cry
And I will lead you to the place where you may rest
In my warm arms
And listen to the rapid beating of a heart well used to laughing.
Hold my hand and jump with me to the place of no regrets
Do not look for sorrow in the bushes,
But run fast and free though life with me.
We are in the middle of life now,
No longer the youngest,
Or prettiest, or strongest of our kind,
Yet we are wise.
We see the end of life on the horizon and know,
Know
That regret is worthless;
That infinitesimal moments matter
When eyes meet,
And passion bursts into being
Out of nothing,
From nowhere,
A gift.

1SageFemme © All rights reserved 2015

Leave a comment